Alarms and Excursions

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Alarms and Excursions

February 11 @ 2:30 pm - March 26 @ 10:00 pm GMT

£26

ALARMS AND EXCURSIONS

Here is Greenwich Theatre’s 2022 Spring Production! Brought to you by our in house creative team, starring a wonderfully talented cast to be announced soon…

Four old friends sit down for a quiet evening together. But they are harassed by various bells, sirens, buzzers, warbles, beepers and cheepers, all trying to warn them of something. What are these electronic voices so urgently trying to tell them? Can they understand the mysterious messages before disaster strikes? It’s a race against time — because there are seven more plays and twenty more characters still to come before the evening is through, plus a lot more strange noises — and increasingly desperate calls from eleven separate pay-phones…

Michael Frayn’s Alarms and Excursions takes a hilarious look at society’s tortuous relationship with modern technology. Exposing how comically baffling new fangled machinery can be in its dealings with us, and the double-edged relationship we maintain with the tools which aim to stimlulate progress – but more often than not leave us feeling more baffled than when we began.

Michael Frayn is a playwright, novelist and translator whose astonishing body of work includes the novels The Tin Men (Somerset Maugham Award), Headlong (shortlisted for the Booker Prize) and Spies (winner of the Whitbread Book of the Year), and the plays Noises OffBenefactors and Copenhagen (winner of both an Evening Standard award and a Tony Award).

Following an acclaimed revival of Frayn’s at Greenwich Theatre in 2018, Greenwich Theatre now reunites with the incomparable writer for an unforgettable evening of comedy and ideas.

Michael Frayn has the rare ability to construct farcical comedy around philosophical principles and the laughs and the ideas effortlessly intermesh

– The Guardian

By Michael Frayn

Directed by James Haddrell

Lighting design by Mark Dymock

Cost £26 (£21 for concessions)

AGE SUITABILITY 12+
PERFORMANCE DATES 11 February-26 March
Fri 11 Feb     7:30pm
Sat 12 Feb   2:30pm
Sat 12 Feb     7:30pm
Mon 14 Feb    7:30pm
Tue 15 Feb     7:30pm
Wed 16 Feb     7:30pm
Thu 17 Feb     7:30pm
Fri 18 Feb     7:30pm
Sat 19 Feb     2:30pm
Sat 19 Feb     7:30pm
Wed 9 Mar     7:30pm
Thu 10 Mar     7:30pm
Fri 11 Mar     7:30pm
Sat 12 Mar    2:30pm
Sat 12 Mar     7:30pm
Tue 15 Mar     7:30pm
Wed 16 Mar     7:30pm
Thu 17 Mar     7:30pm
Fri 18 Mar     7:30pm
Sat 19th Mar       2:30pm
Sat 19 Mar     7:30pm
Tue 22 Mar     7:30pm
Wed 23 Mar     7:30pm
Thu 24 Mar     7:30pm
Fri 25 Mar     7:30pm
Sat 26 Mar     2:30pm

Details

Start:
February 11 @ 2:30 pm GMT
End:
March 26 @ 10:00 pm GMT
Cost:
£26
Website:
https://greenwichtheatre.org.uk/events/alarms-and-excursions/

Venue

Greenwich Theatre
Crooms Hill
Greenwich, SE10 8ES
+ Google Map
Phone:
020 8858 7755
Website:
https://www.greenwichtheatre.org.uk